March 02, 2009

The United States Mint will release the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico commemorative quarter into circulation on March 30. It is the second coin in the 2009 District of Columbia & U.S. Territories Quarters Program.

The coin's reverse (tails side) design features a sentry box in Old San Juan overlooking the sea with a hibiscus, Puerto Rico's official flower. The design, by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Joseph Menna, includes the inscription Isla del Encanto (Island of Enchantment).


Leave a reply

Enter the characters shown in the image.