March 24, 2016

Radio Ink announced the winners of the 2016 Medallas de Cortez Awards. The awards are named in honor of Raoul Cortez, who founded KCOR, the first Spanish-language station in the United States, in 1946. This year’s awards honor excellence in seven categories. The winners were announced at the the Medallas de Cortez ceremony on March 22 at the Hispanic Radio Conference (

This year’s winners are:

Local Personality of the Year

Jenny Castillo, WRUM-FM Orlando, FL

Syndicated/National Personality of the Year

Piolin, El Show de Piolin

Program Director of the Year

Arturo Sosa, WSKQ-FM/New York

Sales Manager of the Year

Barbara Carreon, Univision/San Antonio

General Manager of the Year

Javier A. Ortiz, KQRT/KRRN/Las Vegas

Station of the Year

WSKQ-FM/New York

Broadcaster of the Year

Alfredo Plascencia, Lazer Broadcasting

Courtesy of Radio Ink.


Leave a reply

Enter the characters shown in the image.